Wednesday 23rd May 2018,
North Yorks Enquirer

“Cross-Dressing Leader?”

May 26, 2015 Letters

An interesting roster of Scarborough Borough Councillors have seen fit to share with a wider readership the following Letter to the Leader – Councillor Derek BASTIMAN. It has prompted much merriment – not least amongst Conservative members. Enjoy!

~~~~~

From: [redacted]
Date: 25 May 2015 11:34:39 BST
To: <cllr.derek.bastiman@scarborough.gov.uk>, <cllr.rob.barnett@scarborough.gov.uk>, <cllr.david.billing@scarborough.gov.uk>, <Cllr.Eric.Broadbent@scarborough.gov.uk>, <cllr.liz.colling@scarborough.gov.uk>, <cllr.paul.cross@scarborough.gov.uk>, <cllr.gerald.dennett@scarborough.gov.uk>, <cllr.vanda.inman@scarborough.gov.uk>, <cllr.carl.maw@scarborough.gov.uk>, <cllr.richard.moody@scarborough.gov.uk>, <cllr.neil.price@scarborough.gov.uk>, <cllr.tony.randerson@scarborough.gov.uk>, <Cllr.John.Ritchie@scarborough.gov.uk>, <cllr.steve.siddons@scarborough.gov.uk>, <Cllr.John.Warburton@scarborough.gov.uk>, <Cllr.sam.cross@scarborough.gov.uk>, <cllr.jonathan.dodds@scarborough.gov.uk>, <Cllr.Colin.Haddington@scarborough.gov.uk>, <Cllr.Norman.Murphy@scarborough.gov.uk>, <Cllr.Roxanne.Murphy@scarborough.gov.uk>, <Cllr.Bill.Chatt@scarborough.gov.uk>, <cllr.mike.cockerill@scarborough.gov.uk>, <Cllr.Janet.Jefferson@scarborough.gov.uk>, <cllr.dilys.cluer@scarborough.gov.uk>, <cllr.mark.vesey@scarborough.gov.uk>, <newsdesk@jpress.co.uk>, <cometedit@gmail.com>,  <look.north@bbc.co.uk>
Cc: <Cllr.Alf.Abbott@scarborough.gov.uk>, <cllr.godfrey.allanson@scarborough.gov.uk>, <cllr.andrew.backhouse@scarborough.gov.uk>,  <cllr.luke.backhouse@scarborough.gov.uk>, <Cllr.Lynn.Bastiman@scarborough.gov.uk>, <Cllr.David.Chance@scarborough.gov.uk>, <Cllr.Guy.Coulson@scarborough.gov.uk>,  <Cllr.Michelle.Donohue-Moncrieff@Scarborough.gov.uk>, <Cllr.Tom.Fox@scarborough.gov.uk>, <Cllr.Simon.Green@scarborough.gov.uk>, <Cllr.Marie.Harland@scarborough.gov.uk>, <Cllr.David.Jeffels@scarborough.gov.uk>, <Cllr.Andrew.Jenkinson@scarborough.gov.uk>, <Cllr.Hazel.Lynskey@scarborough.gov.uk>, <Cllr.Helen.Mallory@scarborough.gov.uk>, <Cllr.Jane.Mortimer@scarborough.gov.uk>, <cllr.john.nock@scarborough.gov.uk>, <cllr.clive.pearson@scarborough.gov.uk>, <cllr.heather.phillips@scarborough.gov.uk>, <Cllr.Joseph.Plant@scarborough.gov.uk>, <cllr.roberta.swiers@scarborough.gov.uk>, <Cllr.Martin.Smith@scarborough.gov.uk>, “cllr.phil.trumper@scarborough.gov.uk” <cllr.phil.trumper@scarborough.gov.uk>, <Cllr.sandra.turner@scarborough.gov.uk>, <cllr.callam.walsh@scarborough.gov.uk>
Subject: Open letter: Dress Code in chamber
Dear Derek,
After so much common sense being spoken at the meeting on 18th May (http://www.scarborough.public-i.tv/core/portal/webcasts) I was surprised at the end of it to hear you try to reinforce a dress code on councillors in chamber.
As one of your constituents I don’t care whether you dress in a skirt, suit, mickey mouse costume or even work in your shirt sleeves.  What I do care about is that local councillors, for whom I generally have the greatest respect, (whatever their party) do a decent job.  I would also like to see them represent the spectrum of society we see in Scarborough – young, old, men, women, LGBT, ethnic variety, disabled and able-bodied.  Encouraging rules that reflect middle-aged, middle-class white bloke views of the world will not encourage that healthy diversity. I would like you to withdraw the request for some sort of outdated dress code to be maintained.  In order to encourage you I will donate £50 to the charity of your choice, if you withdraw the request and attend the next council meeting dressed as a woman and (this is the really important bit) without a jacket.
Best wishes,
[redacted]

Comments are closed.