Thursday 29th June 2017,
North Yorks Enquirer

SBC: No Confidence Vote – Up-Date

Please see latest up-date here: “SBC: ‘No Confidence’ Motion Gathers Momentum”

SBC: No Confidence Vote – Up-Date

  • an “In My View” article by NIGEL WARD, up-dating readers on the long-awaited Vote of NO CONFIDENCE at Scarborough Borough Council.

~~~~~

Residents of the Borough of Scarborough who have been enquiring about the progress of the No Confidence Motion tabled at Scarborough Borough Council by Councillor Sam CROSS, seconded by Councillor Jonathan DODDS, will perhaps be angered but unsurprised by today’s news.

Thanks to the openness and transparency of certain members of Filey Town Council (who supported the earlier FTC vote of No Confidence12 votes FOR versus 1 vote AGAINST), I am now able to share with readers a letter from Councillor Sam CROSS [Ukip] to the Filey Town Councillors, describing in excruciating detail the astonishing machinations performed by SBC Director of Legal & Democratic Services and Monitoring Officer Lisa DIXON in an apparent effort to spare the Leader and his predominantly Tory Cabinet any further negative publicity ahead of the North Yorkshire County Council elections on 4th May 2017 and the general election on 8th June 2017.

SBC Mayor Councillor Simon GREEN [Con.] (pictured above with Monitoring Officer DIXON) also appears to have been derelict in his duty to call an Extraordinary Meeting of Full Council to address the No Confidence Motion within the seven-day period required by the Constitution. (He will be replaced next month by Councillor Martin SMITH [Con.]).

It should be remembered, of course, that if Councillor CROSS’s description of events is true – and can anyone doubt him? – that this is not the first time that the Monitoring Officer has played fast and loose with the Constitution in service of her Tory masters. Both her and the Mayor now face formal complaints – which, in my educated opinion, are almost certain to be swept under the carpet – along with the MAZARS’ “independent” investigation into the Ben MARRIOTT fraud and corruption allegations which, according to Mrs DIXON was close to completion around the turn of the year. Why has it not been published?

However, and contrary to expectations, Mrs DIXON has (prudently) not attempted to suggest that the Leader and his seven Cabinet Portfolio Holders should be eligible to vote on a Motion in which they hold Disclosable Pecuniary Interests in virtue of the additional Allowances attendant upon their respective positions.

All SBC Councillors receive a Basic Allowance of £4,041.24 per annum, whereas Cabinet Portfolio Holders receive double that – £8,082.48 per annum – and the Leader receives fourfold –  £16,164.96 per annum.

Councillor Joe PLANT [Con.] receives an additional £2,020.68 per annum in virtue of his position as Leader of the Conservative Group, bringing his total to £10,103.16 per annum).

Collectively, the Leader and Cabinet Portfolio Holders draw £74,763.00 per annum from the public purse.

That is a great deal of money for eight Councillors in whom the wider public holds little or no confidence – and there are, of course, other Allowances, plus Expenses.

Here follows Councillor CROSS’s letter to FTC members:

Download the PDF file SAM_CROSS_LETTER_240417.


LOBBY YOUR COUNCILLOR(S)?

Concerned residents who wish to lobby Councillors to vote FOR or AGAINST the Motion, or to urge RESIGNATION, can do so by emailing them at the following addresses (listed alphabetically within Groups; Group Leaders in bold type):

CONSERVATIVE

Cllr.Alf.Abbott@scarborough.gov.uk,

cllr.godfrey.allanson@scarborough.gov.uk,

cllr.andrew.backhouse@scarborough.gov.uk,

cllr.luke.backhouse@scarborough.gov.uk,

Cllr.Lynn.Bastiman@scarborough.gov.uk,

Cllr.David.Chance@northyorks.gov.uk,

Cllr.Guy.Coulson@scarborough.gov.uk,

Cllr.Michelle.Donohue-Moncrieff@Scarborough.gov.uk,

Cllr.Tom.Fox@scarborough.gov.uk,

Cllr.Simon.Green@scarborough.gov.uk,

Cllr.Marie.Harland@scarborough.gov.uk,

Cllr.David.Jeffels@scarborough.gov.uk,

Cllr.Hazel.Lynskey@scarborough.gov.uk,

Cllr.Jane.Mortimer@scarborough.gov.uk,

cllr.clive.pearson@scarborough.gov.uk,

cllr.heather.phillips@scarborough.gov.uk,

Cllr.Martin.Smith@scarborough.gov.uk,

cllr.roberta.swiers@scarborough.gov.uk,

cllr.phil.trumper@scarborough.gov.uk,

cllr.callam.walsh@scarborough.gov.uk,

INDEPENDENT

cllr.vanda.inman@scarborough.gov.uk,

Cllr.Janet.Jefferson@scarborough.gov.uk,

LABOUR

cllr.rob.barnett@scarborough.gov.uk,

cllr.david.billing@scarborough.gov.uk,

Cllr.Eric.Broadbent@scarborough.gov.uk,

cllr.paul.cross@scarborough.gov.uk,

cllr.liz.colling@scarborough.gov.uk,

cllr.gerald.dennett@scarborough.gov.uk,

cllr.carl.maw@scarborough.gov.uk,

cllr.richard.moody@scarborough.gov.uk,

cllr.neil.price@scarborough.gov.uk,

Cllr.John.Ritchie@scarborough.gov.uk,

cllr.steve.siddons@scarborough.gov.uk,

cllr.tony.randerson@scarborough.gov.uk,

Cllr.John.Warburton@scarborough.gov.uk,

UKIP

Cllr.sam.cross@scarborough.gov.uk,

cllr.jonathan.dodds@scarborough.gov.uk,

cllr.colin.haddington@scarborough.gov.uk,

Cllr.Norman.Murphy@scarborough.gov.uk,

Cllr.Roxanne.Murphy@scarborough.gov.uk,

GREEN

cllr.dilys.cluer@scarborough.gov.uk,

cllr.mark.vesey@scarborough.gov.uk,

NOT ELIGIBLE (Leader & Portfolio Holders)

cllr.derek.bastiman@scarborough.gov.uk,

Cllr.Bill.Chatt@scarborough.gov.uk,

cllr.mike.cockerill@scarborough.gov.uk,

Cllr.Andrew.Jenkinson@scarborough.gov.uk,

Cllr.Helen.Mallory@scarborough.gov.uk,

Cllr.john.nock@scarborough.gov.uk,

Cllr.Joe.Plant@northyorks.gov.uk,

Cllr.sandra.turner@scarborough.gov.uk,

ALL 50 SBC COUNCILLORS

CouncillorsDG@scarborough.gov.uk

Download the PDF file SBC_REQUISITION_050417.

Share This:

Comments are closed.